Powerbuilder work with SVN, CVS on SourceForge

I spent a few hours yesterday trying to let PowerBuilder work with CVS on SourceForge, lots of configuration drove me crazy. :pserver for anonymous, :ext for developer, etc…

Finally, I realized in WinCVS I should use :ssh instead of :ext to login as myself, same as PushOK CVS SCC plogin for PB. Shortly, another problem came to me: the version of PushOK CVS SCC I downloaded is too high for SourceSafe! I supposed to get 1.XX not 2.XX!

No hesitate, I switched to SVN. So simple to connect, only https:! And the speed was like flying, compare to CVS. I turned off the CVS option on my page then, no wonder.

One thing shocked me is, every check in from PowerBuilder to SVN will rise the rev number, within 20 minutes, my rev number on SF reached to 10. Need to find a way to do tag, or label, or something like that. The PushOK proxy seems doesn’t give me too many options.

Meanwhile, I downloaded RapidSVN, another file based GUI for SVN, didn’t figure out how to tag yet.

7 thoughts on “Powerbuilder work with SVN, CVS on SourceForge

  1. Download TortoiseSVN. It integrates with context menu on Windows Explorer. You will see Branch/tag as a menu when you right click on the folder where the SVN files are located. For PB, the .sr* files will be stored in the SVN, so you can go to the root where your PBLs are the tag that folder.

    Hope this helps.

  2. Those awfull revision increments while manipulation your PB source in SVN occurs because the source control adapter needs to control exclusive checkouts, and to do so it alters a svn property of the source file in the subversion repository. It really sucks.

    Another lame problem that some SCC Proxies do is to increment the revision number for each file in a commit list.

    Newer versions of PushOK SVNSCC uses the svn lock property that is not versioned, eliminating the revision increments. It also do multi-file commits correctly.

    • I meant if you don’t extract them from the PBL 1st and store them separately. You mean SVN knows how to parse Sybase PBLs, extract the indivual sr* files, and store/version them individually? Or are you using some 3rd-party interface (like PushOK) and it’s digging into the PBL? That would be a great advantage to know.

      • That’s why you need PBG files for, which keeps the mapping info between sr* and pbl.

        PBG is auto-gened by PB IDE when you first time connect to any source control system, vss or svn. It can be messed up by developers or env. So you need a CI to check it constantly.

Leave a Reply

