First day with SVN

As Pragmatic Version Control using Subversion suggested, I tried to move my source code from /src to /trunk/src in SF’s svn repository. It turned out thing was not that easy. Rapidsvn was not rapid at this at all, it kept popping-up a message input window for every item. When my rev number reached to 86 (I started from 20), I found the command line can finish this operation in seconds with a -m (-message) switch.

Also, I still could not figure out how to add new objects into repository. Couldn’t use import for add new because it always stopped at the exist one, then all the commit were roll backed. (A new feature call atomic submit?)

I had to delete the exist objects from my work folder then re-do an import. There should be a way to easily add. RapidSVN’s online help said by turning flat mode on I can right click on new object then do a ‘Add’. All the objects shown to me are from remote repository, where can I see my local ones?

Tortoisesvn is very user friendly, it’s not that slow compare to rapidsvn, but is not suitable to PowerBuilder because PB object is not a flat file. Having two different svn clients on my machine also made me confused, tortoisesvn said objects have been added in, but rapidsvn said not yet. ???

I think command line might be the safest way to work with svn, especially for tag (actually is copy in svn) and move.

My PowerUnit’s rank jumped to 2400 something from 25K with only 8 new downloads last night.

Leave a Reply

