Aptana studio

I wish I had used Aptana studio (Radrails) 2 years ago, so my ruby coding experience could be more fun. This IDE is very close to Visual studio + Resharper for CSharp coding. The intelligence looks a little bit werid, might because there are too many method in ruby’s object type.

What else I like very much includes:

  1. Unite-test view, exactly same as Junit in eclipse. Once I run one of the test case, it seems no way back to the full list. Unless I re-run the class level test or select the latest test I had run.
  2. Outline view, can even launch unit-test directly. But for the method level unit-test I had to hard type in class name and method name, why no smart drop down list available?
  3. Ruby core api help window, not that help than MS one, but better than nothing.
  4. Code compete, for method, if block, etc. Same as Resharper does for CSharp.
  5. Open declaration, very useful, F3, just like Ctrl+B in R#. But it seems not very stable, I kept getting error “select text not in a ruby …”, switch to eclipse, work for a while, then got the same problem again. For some reason, my home pc just work fine. Need to figure this out someday.
  6. Looks like this aptana studio can also do php and python coding, even ajax javascript, WOW!

The annoying part for Ruby coding is environment config. For some reason my libxml didn’t work on my windows env, figured out almost whole day, then it magiclly starts to word. Still don’t know why. Probably I should copy those lib2xml.dll into windows system folder, and then copy the xml folder under $ruby\lib\ruby\site_ruby\1.8. But I was too tired of copying those folders, don’t know what one did the work. Anyway, it works now, PFM.

Those files are needed for libxml running on windows.

  1. ruby\lib\ruby\site_ruby\1.8\xml\libxml.rb
  2. ruby\lib\ruby\site_ruby\1.8\i386-msvcrt\libxml_so.so
  3. ruby\lib\ruby\site_ruby\1.8\libxml.rb

I also got a problem on installing log4r, tried gem install, update_rubygems, didn’t work, always got a loaderror. I tried “ruby -e ‘require “log4r”‘, the log4r already shonw in the list, but why still loaderror?

I ended up with download the tgz file, and run the ruby install.rb, it seems this process is doing lots of file links afterwards. So, it works. A new folder log4r was created under “ruby\lib\ruby\site_ruby\1.8\”, different than gem install.

Look into log4r, 5 methods in it, debug, info, warn, error and fatal, extact same as log4net. I remeber somewhere in my app I use a trace, it seems not a standard one.

Leave a Reply

