1st day of WinPhone dev

I’m trying to build a media player on winPhone following this post, and this. my add-on feature is to download media files from a password protected site first. This post explains how to do it through webclient. Watch out your username, in my case I don’t need domain prefix, the frustrated part is the error message kept saying “server not found”, in fact should be “user/psw wrong”.

Basic authentication be default is not in IIS standard installation, need to turn this feature on following a machine reboot. The anonymous auth must be disabled to active basic auth.

To implement unit-test on window phone project, this post helped me a lot.

Caliburn Micro made my code much cleaner, unfortunately, as this states, ElementName Bindings doesn’t work with WP7.I have to use classic event method for list selection changed stuff.

My TODOs:

  1. Implementing a progress with slide function seems tricky, shouldn’t there be a standard control just like the one in iPhone?
  2. Same as above, those fast forward play pause button, do I need to build my own?
  3. Where to save user data? IsolatedStorageFile (then I have to launch Simulator to do CRUD) ? or SqlLite (How)?
3 thoughts on “1st day of WinPhone dev

  1. Hey There. I discovered your blog using msn. That
    is a really neatly written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and return to
    learn extra of your useful information. Thanks for the post.
    I will definitely comeback.

Leave a Reply

