Sharing internet connection with VMWare guest

  1. Network adapter must set to host only (NAT/Bridge won’t work).
  2. On host, control panel->network and sharing center ->change adapter settings, pick the regular ‘Local Area Connection’, rename the other ‘Local Area Connection 2’ used by VMWare hosting to ‘VMWare Host Network’ for clarification. Right click on Local Area Connection, select sharing tab, allow sharing internet connection with ‘VMWare Host Network’. Note: ip address on VMWare Host Network will change to something like 192.168.137.1
  3. Stop VMware DHCP Service at service panel, set this service to manual startup type.
  4. Reboot guest. After reboot, guest should get a new ip in 192.168.137 subnet.
  5. Set http proxy in guest in necessary. Note: in RubyMine, svn has it’s own http settings tab.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Sharing internet connection with VMWare guest

  1. Undeniably consider that that you said. Your favourite justification appeared to be on the
    web the easiest factor to consider of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people
    consider issues that they plainly do not recognize about.
    You controlled to hit the nail upon the highest and defined out the entire thing with no need side-effects
    , other people could take a signal. Will likely be again to
    get more. Thanks

  2. You made some decent points there. I looked on the web for more information about the issue and found most people
    will go along with your views on this site.

  3. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It really helpful & it
    helped me out much. I am hoping to present one thing again and aid others like you helped me.

  4. http://www.sundownsalute.com/procs/index.html
    First of all I would like to say wonderful blog!

    I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your thoughts before writing. I’ve had trouble clearing my mind in getting my ideas out.
    I do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are wasted just trying to figure out how to begin.
    Any recommendations or tips? Cheers!

Leave a Reply

